Chicken salad with curry mayo

Standard

Image

Okay, so this isn’t breaking any records for the most creative or unusual recipe, but it’s an awesome fallback, and wicked delicious. The curry mayo really adds something to this, and sprinkled with a few chopped almonds and some raisins, this is a incredibly tasty and after the mayo is made, easy lunch. I used baby romaine as the eating vessel, and it worked out perfectly!

The mayo really does make this, so I wouldn’t suggest skimping on this step. Browning the spices, and letting the oil steep really does make a huge difference. I used the phenomenal recipe at Nom Nom Paleo, only I used my stand mixer with the whisk attachment.

The first step is getting the oil ready. Nom Nom uses macadamia nut oil, but despite looking high and low for some, the closest I came was walnut oil, so I went with that.

The Ingredients:

Image

- 3 tablespoons avocado oil

- 1 1/2 cup walnut oil (The mayo requires 3/4 of a cup, but I wanted a little extra just in case.)

- 3 cloves of garlic. (Give them a rough chop)

- 3 tablespoons curry

- 1 tablespoon cumin

- 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (feel free to cut down on these if preferred.)

- 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

- 1/2 teaspoon cardimom

Image

Heat up the three tablespoons of avocado oil, and throw the garlic in and let it start sweating a touch. (What was with my picture taking???)

Image

Once the garlic is just starting to get translucent, throw in all the other spices and give them a good stir.

Image

Keep moving the oil and spices around so they don’t burn. Things should start getting amazingly fragrant. Once the spices look brown and smell AWESOME, turn the heat off.

Image

While the pan is still hot, but the heat is off, add the walnut oil. Let it cool in the pan and then put it in an airtight container, and let it set for a day or two, to really absorb all the flavors.

Once the oil has steeped for a while, make yer mayo. I plan on having a tutorial up on this at some point, but the key is to add the oil very slowly.

For the actual chicken salad:

The Ingredients:

Image

- Chicken. This is a great use for any leftover chicken, or random bits and pieces of frozen chicken left in the freezer, or whatever is on sale. I used thighs.

Image

Chop up the cooked chicken, and add however much mayo is preferred. I like a mayo-ey salad, and I had a lot of chicken, so I added the whole amount. My mom prefers a very VERY small amount of mayo, so she actually grinds the chicken up, and THEN adds the mayo.

Image

Stir the mayo up into the chicken, until everything is mixed in and tasty.

Image

Once the mayo and the chicken are combined, it’s time for the weird part of this salad. My family has done this for years, and it is the only way I can really eat chicken salad these days.

Anyway, in smallish batches, toss the chicken salad into the food processor, and grind that baby up.

Image

Looks weird, tastes delicious!!!!

Image

YUMMY! It may not be the prettiest food ever, but like I said, it’s crazy tasty. And once the mayo is made, it’s pretty easy to just shove in a lettuce wrap and stuff in the ol’ piehole.

I stuffed the salad in the romaine lettuce cups, sprinkled the almonds and raisins on top, and scarfed them down. Do it!

Image

One response »

Leave a Reply

