Here we go!

Image

Pesto marinated chicken with confetti salad

Welcome! This here is going to be the paleo blog for the normal people (read: unfit, unhealthy, and wanting to make a change). I love some of the paleo blogs available out there. So many of them are beautiful, considerate, and well written. Unfortunately, a lot of those people are either in really good health, or have minor health issues, and are starting in a good place. They do crossfit for fucks sake. I draw a lot of inspiration from those folks, but at the same time, I think that they can make a really great way of life seem intimidating. That isn’t to say that they don’t make everyone feel welcome in their little corner of the blogosphere, they certainly do. However, it’s easy to look at them and say “that is SO not me.” (See the PaleoGods section for the truly awesomeness of these folks.) Well, I’m your average Jane, so to speak. I love food. I love watching TV and playing video games. I do NOT love to exercise. And I’m NOT healthy. I have fibromyalgia, asthma, chronic fatigue, depression, and a host of other issues. And that is going to change.

I did 30 days of paleo between Thanksgiving and Christmas of 2011. I felt better than I had in YEARS. It fell by the wayside because I thought “Hey! I’m doing so much better now!”. If the last 8 or so months taught me anything, it’s that paleo isn’t a 30 day binge, it’s a lifetime change. That’s not to say you can’t cheat upon occasion. But if you do cheat, or fall down for a meal or a day, all is not lost. You aren’t a failure. Shit happens man, just try and get back on the horse for your next meal.

I’m finishing up my first week back on paleo now. I decided that I wasn’t going to worry about this here blog for the first week. But soon, this will be a place to be accountable, and to hopefully inspire others.

Just a little idea of what is to come above. That is pesto marinated chicken with a confetti salad. And some shitty photography.

One response »

Leave a Reply

