Quadruple S chicken

Standard

Image

I’m calling this Quadruple S chicken because it’s savory, sweet, spicy, and sour. This is a piehole punch of flavor that will make you want to eat it every single day. I had a few leftovers, but I kinda wish I had doubled everything so that I had way more. Seriously, I can’t believe this came out of my head. They hang out in a sauce/marinade that is… just so good.

I had the leftovers the next day for lunch, it was JUST as good, if not better at room temperature the next day. I think this would be great for a pot luck, so you could likely double or even triple this recipe and just use a bigger baking dish. (I suggest keeping an eye on things… it might take a bit longer to cook that way.)

WHAT YOU NEED:

Image

– 1 lb of chicken. This marinade probably would have accommodated two pounds of chicken. Live and learn! I like boneless skinless chicken thighs, but whatever makes your skirt fly up.

– 1 Lime

– 1 Lemon

– 4 cloves of garlic. Less could be added, more could be added, but I would go with more rather than less. It is mouthwateringly delicious.

– Large clump of ginger. I used about a third of that piece of ginger in the picture up there. It does add a bit of heat to things, so depending on sensitivity, less could be added.

– 3 TBS Olive oil. This isn’t pictured because I can’t seem to remember everything I need when I take these pictures to save my life.

– 2 TBS Honey

– 2 TBS coconut aminos. These take the place of soy sauce, but non paleoites could certainly use soy sauce. (And everyone on earth should make this… SO good.)

-1 tsp Sriracha. This can be adjusted at will, but it DOES add favor, not just heat, so I don’t suggest cutting it out all together, but it could be done if needed.

1/2 tsp Fish Sauce. This stuff is stinky, and does not seem like something that should be consumed. But trust me, it can’t be tasted once it’s added to the sauce. It just adds a certain umami that can’t be found anywhere else.

– Salt to taste. I added maybe an eighth of a teaspoon at most, but I tend to prefer a little less salt than more. The coconut aminos and fish sauce are naturally salty, so taste the sauce before putting it on the chicken and add salt as needed.

HARDWARE:

Image

– Blender. Meet my blender… it’s beat to death, it’s loud, and it’s served me well over the years. I wish so hard that one of these would magic itself into my kitchen.

– Baking dish that will snugly fit all the delicious chicken

– Meat cutting board. CROSS CONTAMINATION IS BAD. When dealing with ANY raw mean, make sure to use something that can be scrubbed clean. My beloved butcher block cutting board (Thanks again Gabelmann women!) is not that thing. So I need boards for raw meat. I rinse them, wash them, and then stick them in the dishwasher. I’ve had a nasty case of food poisoning before. That is not something I’m willing to repeat.

– Rubber spatula. For tasting, and scraping every single last tasty morsel or sauce out of the blender.

– Measuring spoon

– Knife. Either use one and wash it after chicken cutting, or use two different knives.

– NOT PICTURED: tongs to work the chicken.

**PREHEAT THE OVEN TO 350**

Image

Trim any excess fat off the chicken if needed. Unfold the chicken thighs and let them hang out while prepping the sauce. The thighs’ll get folded back up, but having them open like this makes it easier to get the sauce in every little nook and cranny.

WASH YOUR KNIFE!!

Okay, this is really the only tricky part of the process, and for the most part, the hardest work. And trust me, it’s not really all that hard. The lime (and eventually the lemon) needs to be supremed. Basically, the flesh of the citrus removed from the peel and membranes. I’ve tried making it without taking this step, and it was very, VERY bitter. So while it seems like a finicky fussy step, it’s worth it. As a side note, this is a great way to prep citrus for all sorts of different things. Meyer lemon to go on top of fish, oranges to go on top of…. well, anything. Key limes to go on top of pies.

To supreme a lime: 

Image

Chop the ends off the lime. (I know, cutting edge techniques being used here folks…)

Image

Turn the lime on one of the flat ends, and run the knife along the lime to take the peel, pith, and outside membranes off. Keep going around until the whole lime nekkid.

Image

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEK!!! NEKKID LIME!!!!!

Image

Place the knife JUST on the side of the white line that marks where the membrane is. Slice down until the knife hits halfway through the lime. The lime is pretty dense in the middle, so it’s pretty obvious when to stop.

Image

Now, move the knife to the other side of the wedge of lime. This was really hard to take a picture of. I wish I had another set of hands. So, just pretend that this is crystal clear, and hopefully it will be in a sec. Cut down again to the middle, dense bit…

Image

and pull out the perfect little segment of lime flesh. Repeat with all the sections until all the lime flesh is free of it’s membrane pocket. (I know, I just couldn’t think of a better way to put it.) Save the empty membrane bunch for the moment.

Image

Repeat with the lemon.

DISCLOSURE: I’ve done this a million times, so I felt fairly comfortable doing all this over the bowl of the blender so that none of the awesome citrus juice is lost. Since this doesn’t require any super hard cutting, it could be done on a plate to collect the juice.

Image

Dump the citrus into the bowl of the blender, and add any reserved citrus juice from the knife work. Take the bundle of membranes, and squeeze the last of the juice out of them into the bowl, and then toss them.

ADD:

Image

1/2 teaspoon of fish sauce. Again, I know this smells… not good. But once it’s added to everything else? YUM!!!

Image

1 teaspoon of sriracha. Add more with caution, add less if needed. (Plus, something about the sriracha makes the sauce SUCH a pretty color.)

Image

2 tablespoons of coconut aminos. Again, soy sauce can be used here for non paleo peeps. I would suggest low sodium. More salt can always be added, but it can’t be taken away.

Do the next two ingredients in the order that I did… trust me, it makes life SO much easier.

Image

3 tablespoons of olive oil. This really needs to come before…

Image

the two tablespoons of honey. Doing the oil first and THEN the honey allows the honey to slide right out of the spoon. This really does make life considerably easier in the end.

Now, some more knife work. This can be clumped together with the citrus stuff, but I get bored easily, so I split it up.

Image

Grab 4 cloves of garlic. So pretty 🙂

Image

Peel and rough chop the garlic and dump it into the blender

Image

(Ummmm, I forgot to take a picture of the unpeeled ginger, so I took a picture after I peeled it. Make believe the above picture is unpeeled ginger.) Grab the ginger…

Image

Peel and rough chop that as well, and toss it in the blender too.

Image

Mmmmm, that looks weird. But it’s going to be awesome soon!

Image

Put the blender bowl into the base, pop the top on, and set it whirling. Make sure that everything is liquefied and combined. Taste it, and adjust the seasoning. I added MAYBE two twists of the salt grinder.

Image

Once everything tastes good, dump the marinade over the chicken. (Isn’t the sauce the prettiest color?)

Image

Flip the chicken all around in the sauce, and then fold it up (if using thighs, if using breasts, you know… just toss them around.) Cover and let this sit in the fridge for a couple hours, then take it out and let it sit out of the fridge for a few minutes to take the edge off the cold.

Image

Bake the chicken for around 45 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Use a meat thermometer if needed. The juices should run clear when poked. Let the chicken cool for a few minutes before trying to eat it. Trust me.

Image

Look at that delicious example of chickeny goodness. Make this, and make it now. TRUST ME.

Have a pretty flowery Wednesday!

Image

Flowers make me really happy.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Chicken with blood orange and fennel salad « Paleo-rrific

Leave a Reply

