Shrimp lettuce wrap tacos

Standard

Image

Shrimp Lettuce wrap tacos. Wow, these are SO good. I apologize about the craptastic pictures, but it was after dark, and staying crappy outside so better pictures just aren’t happening right now. As soon as it gets nicer out, I’ll try and recook and rephotograph.

Anyway, back to the point. These are so easy, that I almost feel bad calling it a recipe, but hey. They are delicious, and can be customized to each person, so they are perfect for a family of differing tastes. These are also wickedly tasty with the citrus slaw. Yummy!!

The Ingredients: 

Image

FYI: The stuff to the left is the stuff for the quick marinade for the shrimp. The stuff to the right is what I used to assemble my tacos.

– 1 lb shrimp

– 2 limes

– 2 cloves garlic

– a bunch of cilantro

– Salt

– lettuce (butter or such)

– your favorite salsa. I used a pre-made salsa with some fruit. It was awesome.

– avocado

Citrus pickled slaw

The Hardware:

Image

– Frying pan

– Cutting board

– Sharp knife

– Tongs

– zester

Image

Okay, the shrimp. I used headless, easy peel shrimp. I like to use raw shrimp so they soak up flavors. (Shrimps haz the flavurz…. just ask my cats. They were allllll over me.) If you get the shrimp that AREN’T already cleaned, cut along the spine, through the shell. You can see where in the above picture. Pull off the shell (see below) and then, just pull out the icky gut bits. I like to rinse them afterwords as well, just to be sure that they are clean. Make sure to use board that can be sanitized afterwords! No icky germ growing!

Image

To remove the shell and tail, grip the tail, loosen the shell around the rest of the shrimp, and pull the flesh out. This is a bit hard to explain, but it becomes pretty clear. 

Image

Now, this is my own little insanity, but I don’t like the vein on the inside of the curve of the shrimp. I realize that I’m a crazy person, but to take it out, I flatten the shrimp on my board…

Image

 Score the underside of the shrimp above where the vein is…

Image

And use whatever means necessary to pull the vein off. Gross, yes. But it’s gots to be done! 

Image

Anyway, after everything is clean, rinse the knife and then cut the limes in half…

Image

 And juice them into the container with the shrimp. I just rinsed out this plastic jobby that the shrimp came in and threw the cleaned shrimp back in there. Also, my hands look damned freakish in this whole post. Sorry bout that.

Image

Peel two cloves of garlic, 

Image

And grate the garlic into the shrimp.

Image

Grab the big ol’ pile of cilantro…

Image

remove the stems, and then chop that stuff up!

Image

Throw it into container with the shrimp…

Image

Put a cover on the shrimp, give it a good shake and stick it into the fridge. The acid will start to slowly cook the shrimp. Two things of import here… don’t wander too far away at this point. These only should marinate for about 15 minutes so the shrimp don’t get too tough. Also, I don’t salt things until AFTER the shrimp cooks, so don’t be worry.

Image

After about 15 minutes, pull the shrimp out of the fridge. The acid is doing it’s thing to the shrimp. 

Image

Put the shrimp in a hot pan. (FYI, for some reason the steam is making the pan look oddly smudgy. I have no idea what the hell is up with that.)

Image

Cook the shrimp for a minute to a minute and a half, flip the bitches, and cook it for a minute on the other side. Seriously, these go FAST. 

Image

Cook them until they are ALMOST opaque all the way through, but not quite. The picture above sort of demonstrates what I mean. 

Image

Throw these in a container, and salt them to taste. I like them cold, so I stick them in the fridge at this point, but they are also very delicious warm. 

Image

Cut the avocado in half, and scoop it into a bowl, and smoosh it up with some salt in a bowl. 

Image

Put a lettuce leaf on a plate…

Image

dollop on some avocado on…

Image

then some shrimp…

Image

THEN some pickled slaw…

Image

Aaaaaand finally some tasty salsa. Roll them up, and nom the hell out of them.

Image

One response »

Leave a Reply

