Wicked good root vegetable, chicken, and sausage casserole

Standard

Image

This recipe started as a carb loaded potato laden monstrosity. It was a recipe from an old cookbook (the name of which escapes me) and the recipe was called “chicken delicious” and it was, in fact, delicious. It was one of my favorite meals, but it was NOT even a little healthy. Over the years, my mom made steps to make it healthier, and I’ve just finished the process. This will either feed a crowd, or feed a couple people for a few meals. I had this for game day dinner (/sad… The Patriots are out. Go Ravens? I guess if it can’t be my native home team, my adopted home team is a good second best!) and lunches. This would be great for any sort of covered dish gathering. It tastes great hot, it tastes great at room temp, and it tastes great reheated. Make it. Nom it. Love it.

The Ingredients:

Image

– 1 large sweet potato

– 2 large parsnips

– 5 or 6 carrots

– 1/3 cup of oil

– 1 teaspoon paprika

– 1/2 teaspoon thyme

– 1 teaspoon parsley

– 1/2 teaspoon oregano

– 1 teaspoon pepper

– 1 teaspoon salt

– 12 or so chicken thighs

– a bunch of sausage. I used about a roll and a quarter of the sausage you see in the picture.

Image

– Also, three large cloves of garlic.

Image

Chop up the sweet potato, parsnips and carrots. The key is to cut them fairly smallish. I actually cut out the core of the parsnips too, because I find that they can get fairly woody. You can see the carrots are a bit bigger than the rest, because I find they cook a bit faster than the other two, and didn’t want them to be all mush. Throw all the veg into the bottom of a big ol’ casserole dish.

Image

Chop the garlic, and combine that with the oil, paprika, parsley, thyme, oregano, salt and pepper. Give it all a good stir, and dump it in with the root veggies.

Image

Give the whole thing a good stir, and get all that flavor mixed in with the veg.

Image

Layer the chicken on top of all the veggies. I used thighs, and they were FREAKING DELICIOUS. I normally use boneless skinless chicken breasts, but decided to mix it up this time. I am pretty sure I will never use anything but thighs again.

Image

I generally take the sausage out of the casing and then layer it on top.

Image

Cover it with tinfoil. This will keep all the flavor sealed into this beautiful little bundle.

Image

This is cooked for an hour. It wasn’t quite done yet, as the veggies weren’t fully tender. This really should have cooked for an hour and 15 minutes, but I got distracted.

Image

This is after an hour and a half. This baby is DONE! (And majorly delicious!) It will need to cool for a bit, as it is piping, steaming, mouth searingly hot. Once it is no longer a molten threat, serve that baby up, and eat the hell out of it.

Image

Leave a Reply

