How I caramelize onions

Standard

This isn’t so much a recipe as a “How I do things” kinda post. I generally make a giant batch of caramelized onions at a time, but I’ve made a smaller batch here to better show the process. It’s pretty simple really, just butter, oil, onions, and salt.

This is kind of a labor of love. I think the way to go is low and slow baby, looooooow and sloooooow.

Image

I slice the onions thin. If making a gigantic batch (ie: anything more than 3 or 4 onions worth) I will slice them with a mandolin or my food processor. I just did 4 onions, so I sliced them by hand.

Image

Throw a tablespoon or two of butter in a good thick pot, and a tablespoon or two of oil. Set it going over pretty low heat.

Image

Tada! Nice warm fat.

Image

Throw the onions in the pot, and add a good generous amount of salt to the mix. I turned the heat up just a teeny tiny bit to like, just a hair above low. The above picture is right when I threw the onions into the pot.

Image

This is after 10 minutes. Keep those onions moving. The key is to get all the sugars in the onion to caramelize, just like you would with a normal plain old sugar.

Image

This is after 20 minutes. I know sitting there babysitting onions are kinda boring, but it’ll be worth it in the end. As a side note, this is also why I make a big batch.

Image

This is after half an hour. I know it seems like it’s not going anywhere, but trust me… we are getting close!

Image

And TADA! This is after 40 minutes. Brown, sweet, and delicious. NOW! If you are making a gigantic batch, this may take longer than 40 minutes. I’ve made 20 or 30 onions worth (For a French onion soup) that took about 3 hours to get to this point. Just patience and love.

Throw them into a container, and you can pull out onions whenever you need them. I usually cook them a little more just to get them warm, as a base for whatever I’m making.

Image

One response »

  1. Pingback: Chicken sate with wilted spinach « Paleo-rrific

Leave a Reply

